Natural Winter Boutonnieres For All Styles


With two children, a busy officer position for my local historic district, a business and a social life it’s rare that I find myself bored.  Alas, that very thing happened to me late last week and being one who isn’t a fan of idle time I quickly found myself with an impromptu craft project.  It is unseasonably warm in DFW this “winter” and my yard is about as confused as it can be.  This causes all sorts of concerns ecologically, but that’s a conversation for a different post on a different blog.  It is however fun for the floral designer in me having flowers blooming at the same time as holly berries and all.  So I went on a little foraging trip through my yard which turned up some fun finds!

Foraging between random supplies that I had laying around the studio and plants that I picked up outside produced some exciting results!  So I decided to play with different types of boutonnieres with these fun items.  They all share the theme that they are natural, but mixing and matching different elements can produce very different styles with simple changes.

Heather, dusty miller and an oxalis bloom gives this boutonniere a sweet and delicate feel.  I finished it off with a taupe velveteen ribbon and a jute tie to make it just a tad more masculine.  I would love to see these on groomsmen and perhaps add a billy button or head of ranunculus or gardenia for the groom.

For my next one I wanted to do something a little more glam, so I pulled a deep purple ostrich feather left over from some headpieces that I made for a friend and added some glitter to our little dusty miller. A bloom of cyclamen brought a delicate touch to this piece that was finished off with some metallic gold twine.  This reminds me a little bit of senior prom for whatever reason, but I like it!

Isn’t this flower amazing?  This is the same cyclamen bloom from the image above, only I have brought in the heart shaped leaf of the plant and opened the bloom against it.  This would be a great compliment for a mother corsage or even for a couple to wear in a civil union ceremony.  I love the cyclamen because it is one of the few blooms that stays hearty throughout the winter.  I have several of these plants in my yard that keep the beauty going from the end of summer until fresh colors come alive in the spring!

Here is another variation that is less flashy without the ostrich feather.  But the glittered up dusty miller still brings pizzazz to the table!

This is my personal favorite boutonniere from this project.  I’ve dubbed it my “rockabilly Christmas” piece.  The evergreen was taken from a holiday arrangement that I had in my living room and the holly berries came from the vine growing on my fence.  Of course it’s the bright polka dot ribbon that really stands out on this piece.  What I like about it is that it has elements that are very traditionally related to Christmas, but it doesn’t scream “Santa Clause”.   This could also transition into a springtime event and even complement a woodland themed wedding much like our recent photo shoot you may recall.

One of the events that I’m currently working on is an “upscale steampunk” wedding.  I’m so excited about this one because it allows me to push the boundaries on my creativity with a design style that I’ve never really experimented with.  (Unless you want to count the two weeks in high school that I dated a guy that drove a hearse, but we won’t go there!)  I tinkered with adding blooms and more color to this piece, but when it was all said and done it looked too “pretty” for the feel that I was going for.  I would pair this boutonniere with a bouquet of schwartswald (deep purple) mini callas, dahlia, garden roses, and tons of ostrich feathers (my client loves them) and wrap it in a complementing crushed velvet stem wrap and some mixed metal chains with an antique key.  (The key to his heart, get it?)  The idea is to mix delicate elements with heartier and heavier pieces.  See this Steampunk meets Anthro wedding featured on Green Wedding Shoes that is our inspiration.

How are you incorporating your personal style into your wedding?  How do you think that you can make a natural style work with a theme that isn’t historically related to being natural?

Leave a Reply

