Favorite things


Wow! I have really not held up to my resolution to blog daily. Bad wedding planner, BAD, BAD!

I have a lot of things that I’m really excited about right now. And I can’t wait to share them with everyone.

  • The first is my new bookstore find The Green Bride Guide. Forgive me but I can’t tell you the author’s name, as the book is in my car at church with my dear husband. I will definately update later with her name though. Anyway, this book has so many great ideas for planning the perfect green wedding. The best part is that she offers ideas that work for all budgets.
  • Feathers in decor. I absolutely love the fluffy and floppy vintage look of ostrich wing feathers, however I do not love the way that they are harvested. There are a couple of farms out there that will gather naturally molten feathers, but they are few and far between. Also, once the feathers fall off the heavy birds often trample them and they aren’t the quality you would like to have in your centerpieces. On the other hand, peacock and peahen feathers are always gathered after molting. And they are almost always in great condition.
  • Sublime Bakery, Fort Worth, TX. Chef Catherine Ruehel has a great thing going over at her Country Day Plaza Bakery. I can honestly say that I have researched a lot of bakeries in the DFW Metroplex, and Sublime is my shining star in what is otherwise a dark dark sky of cakeries. Catherine really seems to care about her customers, and has a mission that she holds dear to her heart. They are the first bakery that I have come across in the Fort Worth area that TRUELY bakes their deserts from scratch. Her confections are made fresh, and they use organic ingredients where available. There is another unique aspect to this business. They use biodegradable cornstarch containers, and they even serve vegan and gluten free offerings for guests with restricted diets. In my opinion other area bakeries could take a page from Chef Catherine’s book.
  • Dark chocolate covered pomegranates. Ok, so this has nothing to do with weddings, but these little balls are a little piece of heaven. If you haven’t tried them yet, then run to the nearest Costco and buy yourself a 10lb bag!
  • Finally, this is what I have turned to a lot lately when I need a smile:

Leave a Reply

